Question: Which chromosomes are submetacentric in humans?

A chromosome with equal chromosomal arms is termed metacentric chromosome. In humans, several chromosomes are submetacentric: chromosome 2, chromosome 4, chromosome 5, chromosome 6, chromosome 7, chromosome 8, chromosome 9, chromosome 10, chromosome 11, chromosome 12, chromosome 17, chromosome 18 and X chromosome.

Is human Y chromosome Telocentric?

There are 5 acrocentric chromosomes in the human genome: 13, 14, 15, 21, and 22. Telocentric: when the centromere is located at the end of the chromosome. There are no telocentric chromosomes in the human genome. Holocentric: when the centromere makes up the entire length of the chromosome.

How many Submetacentric chromosomes are there?

hoolock have a diploid chromosome number of 2n = 44 (Table 12.3). Gibbon species have mostly metacentric and submetacentric chromosomes with few or no acrocentric chromosomes in their karyotype. The Y-chromosome of H. lar is very small and shaped like a dot.


Pongo pygmaeus
S 20
A 20

What do you mean by Submetacentric chromosome?

: having the centromere situated so that one chromosome arm is somewhat shorter than the other.

Is there a YY gender?

Males with XYY syndrome have 47 chromosomes because of the extra Y chromosome. This condition is also sometimes called Jacob’s syndrome, XYY karyotype, or YY syndrome. According to the National Institutes of Health, XYY syndrome occurs in 1 out of every 1,000 boys.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Question: Which process produces 2 genetically distinct haploid cells?

What is the life span of Y chromosome?

For a boy, sperm with the Y chromosome should be deposited as close as possible to the egg because the Y chromosome has a short lifespan and it will not live longer than 24 hours, compared with the sperm with the Y chromosome which will live in a woman’s body for up to 72 hours.

What are the 4 types of chromosomes?

On the basis of the location of the centromere, chromosomes are classified into four types: metacentric, submetacentric, acrocentric, and telocentric.

What are the two main types of chromosomes?

Autosomes – There are 22 pairs of autosomes in humans. These code for most of the genetic traits in the body. Gonosomes or sex chromosomes – Humans contain two types of sex chromosomes including X and Y. While males have an X and a Y chromosome, females possess two X chromosomes.

Do humans have Metacentric chromosomes?

A chromosome is metacentric if its two arms are roughly equal in length. In a normal human karyotype, five chromosomes are considered metacentric: 1, 3, 16, 19, 20.

Do males have Y chromosomes?

Each person normally has one pair of sex chromosomes in each cell. The Y chromosome is present in males, who have one X and one Y chromosome, while females have two X chromosomes. Identifying genes on each chromosome is an active area of genetic research.

All about hereditary diseases